TV Series of the Week: American Horror Story (2012)

Okay so a few weeks ago I started watching American Horror Story and I’m not gonna lie, I initially thought it was absolutely awful. It was slow, nothing happened and it didn’t seem like much of a horror story, so I stopped watching it.

Last week I figured that I’d give it another chance, so I left all of my previous opinions behind and tried to give it another shot. Each series has a different name so I’ll talk about each one in turn.

american-horror-story2

Series 1: The Murder house

Series 1 follows a family who has moved to Boston after the patriarch was discovered having an affair with one of his students (he’s a psychiatrist) and the mother has had a miscarriage. Unbeknownst to them, they have moved into a house in which ghosts of anyone who has died on the property inhabit.

It didn’t do anything for me. I felt the story was boring, it wasn’t scary and the acting was just a bit hammy (with the exception of Evan Peters and Jessica Lange). The storyline was overly complicated for completely unnecessary reasons and everything got weird way too quickly. It really wasn’t my cup of tea

(Though it did garner 15 emmy nominations).

American-Horror-Story-Asylum-american-horror-story-32431051-1600-1200

Series 2: Asylum

Asylum follows the story of various patients, doctors and nuns who work at a mental institution in Massachusetts in 1964. In this one the main emphasis is on demonic possession and the sadistic nature and experiments of one of the doctors in the hospital, Dr. Arden (played by James Cromwell).

Anyways, after sitting through around 10/12 hours of pure bore, I eventually got through to series 2, titled “Asylum” and holy hell. Shit hit the fan. It is awesome. I’m still not finished with this series, but I can safely say that I’m hooked. It’s so, so creepy, dark and has a huge shock factor. Every single actor had switched up a gear and the scriptwriting and directing is a lot less confusing and flashy than it was in the first series. Great stuff.

asylum-girl-strapped-to-bed-padded-walls-american-horror-story-asylum-teaser

I do really like the way the series is laid out, i.e. keeping the same cast, playing different characters in a different story per series. It gives each actor a chance to shine and most importantly, it keeps the show fresh. I can promise you that I’m going to be making my way through to Season 3 (Coven) and will be watching Season 4 (Freakshow) when it comes out.

 

American Horror Story: Freak Show will air on FX later this year

Leave a Reply

